USA Cycling Announces 2023 Road World Championship Teams

Riders from California Make Worlds Team

32 athletes have been selected to the Road team competing at the 2023 UCI Cycling World Championships in Glasgow, Scotland.

The 2023 UCI Cycling World Championships will make history in Glasgow, Scotland as the first World Championship where 13 events will be contested across 7 disciplines. 32 athletes will compete in the road events on August 5-12, 2023.

This event is one of the first automatic Olympic qualifiers for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games for both the Road Race and the Time Trial. Olympic selection procedures can be viewed, here.

Matteo Jorgenson (Boise, Idaho; Movistar Team), Neilson Powless (Roseville, Calif.; EF Education-EasyPost), and Lawson Craddock (Houston; Team BikeExchange-Jayco) will be racing the Road Race fresh off their performances at the Tour de France. Road Race National Champion Quinn Simmons (Durango, Colo.; Lidl-Trek) will also be competing given his withdrawal from the Tour. Time Trial National Champion Brandon McNulty (Phoenix; UAE Team Emirates) will be taking a crack at the rainbow stripes in the Time Trial World Championships. Magnus Sheffield (Pittsford, N.Y.; Ineos Grenadiers) will make his return after his crash in the Tour de Suisse. He has had several podiums in the World Tour this year and will also be vying for the World Title.

Road Race and Time Trial National Champion Chloé Dygert(Brownsburg, Ind.; CANYON//SRAM Racing) will be back at the Road World Championships competing in both events. Dygert has also been selected for the Track World Championships that will run during the same time in Glasgow. Veronica Ewers (Moscow, Idaho; EF Education-TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) has had an impressive Women’s World Tour season so far and will be joined by the team of Dygert, EF Education-TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank teammate Lauren Stephens(Dallas), Coryn Labecki(Tustin, Calif.; Team Jumbo-Visma), Megan Jastrab (Apple Valley, Calif.; Team DSM), Skylar Schneider (Milwaukee, Wis.; L39ion of Los Angeles), and Heidi Franz (Seattle, Wash.; DNA Pro Cycling).

The Team USA Roster is as follows:

Elite Men

Lawson Craddock (Houston; Team BikeExchange-Jayco) – Road Race

Matteo Jorgenson (Boise, Idaho; Movistar Team) – Road Race

Brandon McNulty (Phoenix; UAE Team Emirates) – Time Trial

Neilson Powless (Roseville, Calif.; EF Education-EasyPost) – Road Race

Sean Quinn (Sherman Oaks, Calif.; EF Education-EasyPost) – Road Race

Magnus Sheffield (Pittsford, N.Y.; Ineos Grenadiers) – Time Trial & Road Race

Quinn Simmons (Durango, Colo.; Lidl-Trek) – Road Race

Elite Women

Chloé Dygert (Brownsburg, Ind.; CANYON//SRAM Racing) – Time Trial & Road Race

Veronica Ewers (Moscow, Idaho; EF Education-TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) – Road Race

Kristen Faulkner (Homer, Alaska; Team BikeExchange-Jayco) – Time Trial

Heidi Franz (Seattle, Wash.; DNA Pro Cycling) – Road Race

Megan Jastrab (Apple Valley, Calif.; Team DSM) – Road Race

Coryn Labecki (Tustin, Calif.; Team Jumbo-Visma) – Road Race

Amber Neben (Irvine, Calif.) – Time Trial

Skylar Schneider (Milwaukee, Wis.; L39ion of Los Angeles) – Road Race

Lauren Stephens (Dallas; EF Education-TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) – Road Race

U23 Men

Evan Boyle (Niskayuna, N.Y.) – Time Trial

Owen Cole (Chapel Hill, N.C.; Velocious Sport) – Road Race

Luke Lamperti (Sebastopol, Calif.; Trinity Racing) – Road Race

Brody McDonald (Escondido, Calif.; Aevolo Cycling) – Road Race

Viggo Moore (Feldberg, Ger.; Israel Premier Tech) – Time Trial

Artem Shmidt (Cumming, Ga.; Hagens Berman Axeon) – Road Race

Colby Simmons (Durango, Colo.; Jumbo-Visma Development Team) – Road Race

Junior Men

AJ (Andrew) August (Pittsford, N.Y.; Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team) – Time Trial & Road Race

Luke Fetzer (Laguna Beach, Calif.; Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team) – Road Race

Henry Neff (Arlington, Va.; Kelly Benefits Strategies Cycling) – Road Race

Darren Parham (Yucaipa, Calif.; Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team) – Road Race

David Thompson (New Canaan, Conn.; Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team) – Time Trial & Road Race

Junior Women

Ella Brenneman (York, Pa.) – Time Trial & Road Race

Makala Jaramillo (Monument, Colo.; SonicBoom Racing) – Road Race

Ella Sabo (Redlands, Calif.; Virginia’s Blue Ridge TWENTY24 DEVO)– Road Race

Samantha Scott (Boise, Idaho; CompEdge Racing) – Time Trial & Road Race


Photo of Neilson Powless by Jered Gruber &Ashley Gruber | Gruber Images

This page contains affiliate links, where we get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through the links(at no cost to you) and helps support the site. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Sale assos Chamois Cream (6.76 Ounce)
Sale Garmin Edge 1030, 3.5' GPS Cycling/Bike Computer With Navigation And Connected Features