Teams and Riders Announced for 2019 Amgen Tour of California

Returning Race Champions, World and National Champions, and Olympic Medalists

AEG, owner and presenter of America’s only UCI WorldTour race, has confirmed teams and select riders who will compete in the 2019 Amgen Tour of California and the Amgen Tour of California Women’s Race empowered with SRAM.

From May 12-18, 2019, 19 men’s teams of elite professional cyclists will contest 773 miles of California’s most scenic highways, mountain roads and coastlines from Sacramento to Pasadena. The simultaneous women’s event will feature 16 teams, kicking off in Ventura on May 16, then running concurrently to also finish May 18 in Pasadena.

Both events welcome back past race champions: Boels Dolmans’ Olympic gold medalist and current World Champion Anna Van der Breggen (2017) and California-based reigning race champion Katie Hall (2018) will return to compete in the Amgen Tour of California Women’s Race empowered with SRAM, while men’s returning champions include Team Jumbo-Visma’s George Bennett (2017); BORA-hansgrohe’s three-time World ChampionPeter Sagan (2015), who also holds the race record for stage wins (16); and EF Education First Pro Cycling’s U.S. veteran rider Tejay van Garderen (2013), whose credits include three top-10 Grand Tour finishes and the race record for the largest winning margin of all time (+1.47” ahead of the next competitor).

“I’m excited to say I’ll be coming to California in May to race the Amgen Tour of California. California is really special to me – it’s my home state, and I’m excited to race these new courses in Southern California,” said Hall. “This is going to be an exciting race! The courses are new and well-designed, and will make for some aggressive and exciting finishes.”

“I’m really looking forward to coming back for my 10th Amgen Tour of California. I really love the Amgen Tour of California…come visit us and enjoy!,” said Sagan.


World Tour (13)
Astana Pro Team (KAZ)
BORA-hansgrohe (GER)
CCC Team (POL)
Deceuninck – Quick-Step (BEL)
EF Education First Pro Cycling (USA)
Team Jumbo-Visma (NED)
Team Dimension Data (RSA)
Team Sky (GBR)
Team Sunweb (GER)
· Trek-Segafredo (USA)
UAE Team Emirates (UAE)

Pro Continental (5)
Cofidis (FRA)
Hagens Berman Axeon Cycling Team (USA)
Israel Cycling Academy (ISR)
Rally UHC Cycling (USA)
Team Novo Nordisk (USA)

National Teams (1)
USA Cycling (USA)

The 2019 Amgen Tour of California will feature the current top-three WorldTour teams and a world-class peloton featuring World and National Champions, Olympic and Tour de France veterans including*:

Veteran sprinters Peter Sagan (BORA-hansgrohe), Marcel Kittel (KATUSHA ALPECIN), Mark Cavendish (Team Dimension Data) and Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis)will battle for the coveted green jersey
Despite the lack of a time trial in this year’s race, BAHRAIN – MERIDA general classification leader Rohan Dennis will return to California to showcase his all around climbing skills. He is the current individual time trial champion and a two-time stage winner at the Amgen Tour of California
Astana’s 2018 Tour de France stage winners Magnus Cort Nielsen (DEN) and Omar Fraile (ESP)
Northern Californian Peter Stetina (Trek-Segafredo), who placed 2nd on the Gibraltarstage in 2016
American riders with an eye to the 2020 Olympic Games competing with USA Cycling

* Additional riders will be confirmed in the coming weeks.


Astana Women’s Team (KAZ)
BePink (ITA)
Boels Dolmans Cycling Team (NED)
CCC – Liv (NED)
Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team (RUS)
Drops (GBR)
Hagens Berman | Supermint Pro Cycling (USA)
Rally UHC Cycling (USA)
Sho-Air TWENTY20 (USA)
Swapit/Agolico Cycling Pro Team (MEX)
Team Sunweb (NED)
Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank (USA)
· Trek-Segafredo (USA)
Valcar Cylance Cycling (ITA)
WNT ROTOR Pro Cycling Team (GER)

Seven of the current top-9 UCI ranked women’s teams will compete in the three-day road race, including top-ranked Boels Dolmans (NED). The elite field will include the top three finishers from the 2018 event (Hall, Wiles, Niewiadoma), Olympic medalists and champions:World Champions Lizzie Deignan (2015/Trek-Segafredo) and Chantal Blaak (2017/Boels Dolmans); WNT ROTOR Pro Cycling Team‘s German rider Lisa Brennauer, who holds multiple World and National Champion titles; and Astana’s Arlenis Sierra (Astana), who claimed the green jersey at the 2017 California event and a stage win in Sacramento last year.

Also expected to compete are Ventura, Calif. sisters Kendall Ryan (TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) and Alexis Ryan (CANYON//SRAM), and gifted climbers Ashleigh Moolman Pasio(CCC – Liv) and Kasia Niewiadoma (CANYON//SRAM), who took third place at last year’s race. Trek-Segafredo will mount formidable U.S. riders Tayler Wiles, who placed second in last year’s edition, and Ruth Winder, who claimed a stage at the 2018 Giro d’Italia Femminile. Known as a race where young riders can make their names known, phenoms will punctuate the action including 2020 Tokyo Olympic hopefuls Emma White (Rally UHC);Chloé Dygert (Sho-Air TWENTY20), who set a World Record on the track for individual pursuit last year; and Tustin, Calif.-based speedster Coryn Rivera (Team Sunweb), who at age 26 holds 72 national titles and a 2017 stage victory in California.

Presented by Visit California, a visual overview of the men’s and women’s courses is viewable at

This page contains affiliate links, where we get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through the links(at no cost to you) and helps support the site. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Sale assos Chamois Cream (6.76 Ounce)
Sale Garmin Edge 1030, 3.5' GPS Cycling/Bike Computer With Navigation And Connected Features