Results: SoCal Masters Cyclists Win Titles at Masters Road National Championships

Masters Road Cycling National Championships

60 National Titles were awarded at the Masters Road Cycling National Championships in Albuquerque, New Mexico which were held from August 4 – 7, 2022. This was the second year Albuquerque hosted the Masters Road National Championships to more than 500 athletes from 43 states battle vying for national titles and the prestigious stars and stripes jersey.

Congratulations on the National Championship wins of the fast and savvy masters cyclist from Southern California as highlighted below. USA Cycling recapped each day from the four day event including the time trial, road race and criterium.

Full Results

Day 1 – Time Trial

Time trials were on tap for the first day of the national championships. Younger age groups, Men 35-64 and Women 35-54, tackled a 40-kilometer course first. The Men 40-44 winner, Jadon Jaeger (Wauwatosa, Wis.; Methods To Winning), set the fast time on that course with his time of 47:13.3. Sarah Bishop (Fairfax, Va.) set the fast time for the women on the 40-kilometer course with her time of 52:08.6. The older riders, Men 65+ and Women 55+, tackled a shortened 20-kilometer course. Jane Despas (Menlo Park, Calif.; Socks4Watts) in the Women 55-59 clocked a 29:22.7 for the Women’s 20-kilometer course. On the men’s side, 65-69 champion James Dickerson (Fort Collins, Colo.; Great Divide Brewing), with his time of 26:17.3, set the fast time at 20 kilometers.

Master Women 60-64 Time Trial National Champion:
Ruth Clemence (Newport Beach, Calif.; ) – 29:40.7

Master Women 70-74 Time Trial National Champion:
Laura Lindgren (Long Beach, Calif.; Sisterhood of Cycling) – 31:34.5

Day 2 – Road Race

A 32.2-mile loop for the road races awaited riders on the second day of the championships. The loop contained the critical feature, Heartbreak Hill. The hill is a three-quarter-mile climb that reaches grades over 13%. The first wave of races, the Men 65-69, 70-74, 75-79, 80-84, and 85-89, all did one loop of the course. The later races, the Men 55-59, 60-64, 50-54, and 45-49, all went over Heartbreak Hill twice.

Master Men 60-64 Road Race National Champion:
Douglas Pomeranz (Encinitas, Calif.; Davis Phinney Foundation Masters Cycling)

Day 3 – Road Race

Saturday concluded the road races in Bernalillo County. An additional eleven national titles were up for grabs in all of the master women’s fields and the Men 35-39 & 40-44. Inclement weather added to the excitement for the day, causing the neutralization and restart of both men’s fields halfway through their two-lap race.

Master Women 70-74 Road Race National Champion:
Laura Lindgren (Long Beach, Calif.; Sisterhood of Cycling)

Master Women 35-39 Road Race National Champion:
Priscilla Savord (Orange, Calif.; Incycle mamis)

Day 4 – Criterium

The final day of the championship was for the speedy criterium events. A full schedule of events saw every category take to the 1.1-mile course at the Balloon Fiesta Park on the north side of Albuquerque.

Master Men 55-59 Criterium National Champion:
Christopher Hahn (Santa Barbara, Calif.; Velo Pasadena)

Master Men 45-49 Criterium National Champion:
Philip Tinstman (San Marcos, Calif.; Monster Racing Team)

Master Women 35-39 Criterium National Champion:
Priscilla Savord (Orange, Calif.; Incycle mamis)

This page contains affiliate links, where we get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through the links(at no cost to you) and helps support the site. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.