Video: Wout Van Aert Wins the UCI Cyclocross World Cup in Dublin

Van Aert takes the Victory in Dublin UCI Cyclocross World Cup

Van Aert takes the Victory as Tom Pidcock Completes Podium

Belgian Wout Van Aert claimed his first UCI Cyclocross World Cup victory of the 2022-23 season on Sunday, taking victory in Dublin, Ireland by 14 seconds as Britain’s defending world champion Tom Pidcock returned to the podium in third place. 

Men’s UCI Cyclocross World Cup 

Mud and freezing conditions made for a difficult race in the Irish capital city and Van Aert was made to fight hard for his victory after suffering a bad start and several mechanicals during the race, including a mechanic’s towel jamming in his gears at one point.

The Jumbo-Visma rider showed his strength to ride back to the leading group each time he had an issue however, before powering away to open a gap on his rivals with just over a lap left to race.

Laurens Sweeck finished second and extended his lead in the World Cup overall standings, while Pidcock of Ineos Grenadiers looked likely to win the race with two laps to go, but fell back to take third, 17 seconds behind Van Aert.

Van Aert, 28, said, “This is pure cyclocross. It’s been a pleasure to meet the Irish fans and it was a really exciting course that changed throughout the day. It was a really hard race for me, especially mentally. I had to fight my way into the race because I was missing a little bit at the start and too far off in my positioning. When I felt better I had a mechanical and so it was a long race. In the end it was so tough that I could still make the difference.”

Video – Watch the Men’s UCI Cyclocross World Cup 

Women’s UCI Cyclocross World Cup 

In the women’s elite race, 2022 four-time world bike champion Pauline Ferrand-Prévot of France finished seventh, her best cyclocross result since 2018.

The UCI Cyclocross World Cup circuit moves to Val di Sole in Italy next week, December 18.

Video – Watch the Women’s UCI Cyclocross World Cup 


UCI Cyclocross World Cup Dublin Men’s results

1st – Wout Van Aert (BEL) Jumbo-Visma 59m36s
2nd – Laurens Sweek (BEL) Crelan-Fristads +14s
3rd – Tom Pidcock (GBR) Ineos Grenadiers +17s

Photographer Credit:Kristof Ramon / Red Bull Content Pool
This page contains affiliate links, where we get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through the links(at no cost to you) and helps support the site. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.