Overall Winners Celebrate Season with SoCal Cup Title

After eight months of hotly contested racing, the road season has finally wound down and crowned the overall winners in the SoCal Cup.

The SoCal Cup started January 15th at the Ontario Series Grand Prix and ran until September 2 at the 2012 SoCal Cup Finale Criterium.  Week in and week out, riders were given the opportunity to chase SoCal Cup points in criteriums, road races and time trials and a chance to take home a piece of the $10,000 cash purse that was awarded amongst all of the categories at the end of the Series.

The following riders rode consistently all year and won the Overall title in their respective categories, as well as earned a special jersey that will commemorate their win.

Category 1-2 David Santos (CashCall Mortgage)
Category 3 Steven Salazar (Bahati Foundation)
Category 4 John McNulty (Bike Palace)
Women 1-3 Amber Gaffney (SC VELO/Empower Coaching)
Women 3-4 Hannah Swan (Strive Racing)
Masters 35+ Charon Smith (Surf City Cyclery/STERLING BMW)
Masters 45+ Rich Meeker (Breakaway from Cancer Masters)
Masters 55+ Mark Hoffenberg (Sho-air/Rock ‘n Road)
Masters 60+ Leo Pettus (Paramount Racing)
Junior Men 10-12 Weston Giem (Major Motion Cycling Club)
Junior Men 13-14 Mathew Ly (Tru Cycling)
Junior Men 15-16 Christian Husband (Sho-air/Rock ‘n Road)
Junior Men 17-18 Riley Everett (Monster Media Racing SCVELO)
Junior Women 10-14 Rachel Cross ( Sho-air/Rock ‘n Road)
Junior Women 15-18 Hannah Swan (Strive Racing)

Photo © Christy Nicholson / EchelonDesignPhoto.com

This page contains affiliate links, where we get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through the links(at no cost to you) and helps support the site. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.