Photos Gallery & Results: Brentwood Grand Prix

Report Christy Nicholson /

The Brentwood Grand Prix had a great atmosphere in the heart of Brentwood’s treelined San Vicente Ave., as the riders were treated to a nice downtown atmosphere on a technical course that was challenging but fitting for a State Criterium Championship.

While the races ran throughout the day, the beer garden sponsored by Michelob Ultra kept the large crowd from getting to thirsty, while Announcer Ralph Elliot and Race Director Tom FitzGibbon kept the crowd entertained.

The racers competed for a $13,000 prize list plus some hefty primes, including two $ 500 primes in the Women’s race. In addition, the Women and Men also competed for an equal prize list of $4,000 each. The SCNCA Elite State Criterium Championship were on the line, along with the bragging rights and winners jersey that go with the title. The following riders earned SCNCA Elite State Criterium Championship wins: Pro 1-2 – Ricky Escuela (Predator Cycling), Women 3/4 – Amelia Christensen (ACQUA AL 2/SDBC), Women 1-3 – Suzanne Sonye (Helens Racing), Cat 4 -Marco Fabrizio (Michelob Ultra-LaGrange + 21), Cat 3 – Andres Moralis (MRI Endurance Elite Juniors). Congratulations to the 2013 SCNCA Elite State Criterium Champions! 

On a side note, USA Cycling and USADA made good on their promise to do some drug testing on the local level and the Brentwood Grand Prix was just the race to get it the program started in SoCal.

 A full Photo Gallery is available at

Photos ©  Christy Nicholson /

[SlideDeck2 id=10617]

Full Results

Pro 1/2

  1. Ricky Escuela (Predator Cycling)
  2. Justin Williams (SC Velo MRI Endurance U23)
  3. Logan Loader (CashCall Mortgage)

Cat 3

  1. Andres Moralis (MRI Endurance Elite Juniors)
  2. Raul Cortez (CA Pools / Primal)
  3. Leo Reyes (SC Velo)

Cat 4

  1. Marco Fabrizio (Michelob Ultra-LaGrange + 21)
  2. Israel Tapia (WIN-TEAm Racing)
  3. Scott Rosenberg (Bike Palace)

Cat 4-5

  1. Kyle Wills Moment Cycle Sport
  2. Jonathan McKenzie (South Bay Wheelmen)
  3. Ivan Delgado (South Bay Wheelmen)

Masters 35 +

  1. Phil Tintsman (MRI Endurance)
  2. Mchael Johnson (MRI Endurance)
  3. Armin Rahm (Time-Velo Pasadena)

Masters 45 +

  1. Mike McMahon (Team Velocity)
  2. John Slover (Surf City Cyclery/ Sterling BMW)
  3. Bill Harris (BBI-SIC Cycling)

Masters 55 +

  1. Bob Pellkofer (Rokform / Rock N’ Road)
  2. Malcom Hill (Breakway from Cancer)
  3. Mark Hoffenberg (Rokform / Rock N’ Road)

Masters 60 +

  1. Mike Marotta (Swamis Cycling Club)
  2. John Rubcic (UC Cyclery / JW Floors)
  3. Leo Pettus (OCW / Paramount Racing)

Women 1-3

  1. Suzanne Sonye (Helens Racing)
  2. Melina Bernecker (Prima Pro Women)
  3. Trina Jacobson (SC Velo / Incycle)

Women 3-4

  1.  Amelia Christensen (ACQUA AL 2/SDBC)
  2. Rachel Wills (Moment Cycle Sport)
  3. Vikki Appel (South Bay Wheelmen)

Women 4

  1. Kim Nida ((Surf City Cyclery)
  2. Madelaine Melcher
  3. Hani Freudenberger (Michelob Ultra-LaGrange + 21)

Junior Men 10-12

  1. Osvaldo Mora (Bahati Foundation)
  2. Katin Mitchell (SC Velo)
  3. Tristin Mitchell (SC Velo)

Junior Men 13-14

  1. Christian Sanchez (ACQUA AL 2/SDBC)
  2. Drew Kalasky (Rokform / Rock N’ Road)
  3. Jules Gilliam (Team Specialized)

Junior Men 15-16

  1. Adam Alvarez (LUX Pro Development)
  2. Chazmichael Morales (Cycles Veloce)
  3. Gavin Hoover (Rokform / Rock N’ Road)

Junior Men 17-18

  1. Justin Oien (MRI Endurance Elite Juniors)
  2. Andres Morales (MRI Endurance Elite Juniors)
  3. Sean McElroy (Team Specialized)

Junior Women 10-14

  1. Moriah Swan (Strive Racing)
  2. Lillianna De Leon
  3. Cheyenne Comer (Major Motion Development)

Junior Women 15-18

  1. Hanna Swan (Strive Racing)
  2. Rachel Swan (Strive Racing)
  3. Minerva Campos (Major Motion Development)

Report & Photos ©  Christy Nicholson /

This page contains affiliate links, where we get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through the links(at no cost to you) and helps support the site. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Sale Continental Race 28' Wide 700x25-32c Inner Tubes - 42mm Presta Valve (Pack of 2 w/Conti Sticker)
Sale assos Chamois Cream (6.76 Ounce)