Neben and Rosskopf are Crowned US Pro National Time Trial Champions

Amber Neben Wins 2017 National Time Trial Championships

Irvine’s Amber Neben (Team Velo Concept) and Joey Rosskopf (BMC Racing Team) both rode the fastest times to win the 2017 Pro  Time Trial National Championships, which are taking place in Knoxville, Tennessee.

UCI Individual Time Trial World Champion Amber Neben posted the fast time of 30:27.45 on the 14.4 mile course to take the win ahead of Lauren Stephens (TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) in 2nd who posted a time of 30:59.08. Leah Thomas (Sho-Air TWENTY20) rounded out the podium for 3rd with a time of 31:31.86.

According to USA Cycling, Amber Neben explained, “This course was tricky. There was really no rhythm or flow to it. Mentally, I had to ride it a lot more than physically ride it,” said Neben, a California native who said she was not used to the heat and humidity of eastern Tennessee. “It was a challenge to figure out how to pace it, and then factor in the heat. The humidity was hard. So to be able to factor that in and take care of the hydration, and then understanding there were three laps, and how important the second and third laps were going to be. I had to make sure I stayed in formation in the beginning, so that I could nail the second laps.”

Joey Rosskopf was crowned US National Time Trial Champion in Knoxville today after an impressive performance saw him take the title ahead of BMC Racing Team teammate Brent Bookwalter.  After setting off in the second-to-last wave of riders, Rosskopf settled into an impressive rhythm quickly, posting the provisional best time at the halfway point of the four-lap course before powering across the line to move into the hot seat.  As the final riders set off, Rosskopf’s time of 36’25” remained unshaken and eventually it proved enough to see him take the title and the stars and stripes jersey for the first time in his career. Bookwalter was the final rider to start his 19.2 mile effort and out on the course, he put in a strong performance to clock the second-fastest time of the day, 57 seconds behind Rosskopf, and head onto the podium.
I’m probably the least surprised today at his performance. He may be one of the most under-rated riders on the team,” added Bookwalter about his teammate’s victory.

On Sunday, the road races will begin for the women at 9 a.m., followed by the men’s road race at 1:15 p.m. This 7.9-mile circuit will be covered eight times by the women for a total of 63 miles and 14 times by the men for a total of 109 miles.

Watch the Road Race Live on

1. Joey Rosskopf (Decatur, Ga.) BMC Racing Team – 36:25.37
2. Brent Bookwalter (Asheville, N.C.) BMC Racing Team – 37:22.80
3. Neilson Powless (Roseville, Calif.) Axeon Hagens Berman – 37:39.76

1. Amber Neben (Lake Forest, Calif.) Team Velo CONCEPT – 30:27.45
2. Lauren Stephens (Dallas, Texas) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank – 30:59.08
3. Leah Thomas (Boulder Creek, Calif.) Sho-Air TWENTY20 – 31:31.86

1. Emma White (Delanson, N.Y.) Rally Cycling – 33:02.93
2. Margot Clyne (Boulder, Colo.) Groove Subaru Excel – 33:32.28
3. Sara Youmans (Ketchum, Idaho) Therapueutic Associates Racing – 34:54.19


This page contains affiliate links, where we get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through the links(at no cost to you) and helps support the site. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Sale assos Chamois Cream (6.76 Ounce)