Teams & Rosters: World’s Top Professional Cyclists Will Take on USA Pro Challenge

Marking one of the best fields ever assembled on American soil for a professional cycling race, the provisionary team rosters* for the 2013 USA Pro Challenge have been confirmed and are headlined by the No. 1 and 2 riders in the world – 2013 Tour de France Champion Chris Froome (GBR) of Sky Procycling and 2013 Tour de France Sprint Jersey Winner Peter Sagan (SLO) of Cannondale Pro Cycling. Coming off a remarkable victory at the most storied professional cycling race in the world, Froome and his team will be racing in Colorado for the first time this year.

With a history of attracting the world’s top professional cyclists to Colorado, the USA Pro Challenge will take place August 19-25 and will travel through eight official host cities on a scenic tour through the Colorado Rockies. Emphasizing the competitive level of the field, the race will include six current national champions – Fred Rodriguez (USA), Hayden Roulsten (NZL), Luis Enrique Lemus (MEX), Michael Olsson (SWE), Michael Schär (SUI) and Peter Sagan (SLO). Additionally, the race will host six former Olympic medalists and multiple riders who have captured a stage win at the Tour de France.

The 2013 USA Pro Challenge will include five of the top-10 finishers from last year, including 2012 Champion Christian Vande Velde and second-place finisher Tejay van Garderen. Also featured will be other riders from last year’s final podium, with KOM Champion Jens Voigt and Best Young Rider Joe Dombrowski returning to defend their titles. Additionally, the current and former USPRO National Champions in road race will line up in Colorado (Fred Rodriguez – 2013, Timmy Duggan – 2012).

“This competitive level of the field for the 2013 USA Pro Challenge is by far one of the best that has ever raced on American soil,” said Shawn Hunter, CEO of the USA Pro Challenge. “Chris Froome swept headlines last month after winning the Tour de France and to have on the start line for the USA Pro Challenge will be amazing. The competition this year should be faster and tougher than ever.”

The elite professional roster of teams, which includes 128 riders from 31 countries, is comprised of seven teams that competed in the Tour de France, four Pro Continental teams and five Continental teams. Following is the preliminary complete list of riders that will be competing in the 2013 USA Pro Challenge.
*Team rosters are subject to change
UCI ProTeams
BMC Racing Team (USA)
Tejay van Garderen (USA)
Stephen Cummings (GBR)
Mathias Frank (SUI)
Michael Schär (SUI)
Greg Van Avermaet (BEL)
Lawrence Warbasse (USA)
Julien Taramarcaz (SUI)
Brent Bookwalter (USA)

Cannondale Pro Cycling (ITA)
Peter Sagan (SVK)
Damiano Caruso (ITA)
Alessandro de Marchi (ITA)
Edward King (USA)
Nariyuki Masuda (JPN)
Fabio Sabatini (ITA)
Juraj Sagan (SVK)
Davide Villella (ITA)

RadioShack Leopard Trek (LUX)
Andy Schleck (LUX)
Ben King (USA)
George Bennett (NZL)
Tony Gallopin (FRA)
Andreas Klöden (GER)
Tiago Machado (POR)
Hayden Roulston (NZL)
Jens Voigt (GER)

Sky Procycling (GBR)
Christopher Froome (GBR)
Richie Porte (AUS)
Joshua Edmonson (GBR)
Ian Boswell (USA)
Joseph Lloyd Dombrowski (USA)
Peter Kennaugh (GBR)
Danny Pate (USA)
Kanstantsin Siutsou (BLR)

Team Argos-Shimano (NED)
Patrick Gretsch (GER)
Thomas Damuseau (FRA)
Simon Geschke (GER)
Tann Huguet (FRA)
Tobias Ludvigsson (SWE)
Luka Mezgec (SLO)
Michael Olsson (SWE)
Nikodemus Holler (GER)

Team Garmin-Sharp (USA)
Christian Vande Velde (USA)
Thomas Danielson (USA)
Thomas Dekker (NED)
Rohan Dennis (AUS)
David Millar (GBR)
Lachlan David Morton (AUS)
Andrew Talansky (USA)
David Zabriskie (USA)

Team Saxo-Tinkoff (DEN)
Michael Rogers (AUS)
Anders Lund (DEN)
Bruno Pires (POR)
Christopher Juul Jensen (DEN)
Jay McCarthy (AUS)
Rory Sutherland (AUS)
Timothy Duggan (USA)
Jesper Hansen (DEN)

UCI Professional Continental Teams
Champion System Pro Cycling Team (CHN)
Chad Beyer (USA)
Gang Xu (CHN)
Gregory Brenes Obando (CRC)
Chris Butler (USA)
Craig Lewis (USA)
Ryota Nishizono (JPN)
Chun Kai Feng (TPE)
Ying Hon Yeung (HKG)

UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team (USA)
Lucas Euser (USA)
Alessandro Bazzana (ITA)
Jonathan Clarke (AUS)
Benjamin Day (AUS)
Philip Deignan (IRL)
Christopher Jones (USA)
Jeffry Louder (USA)
Kiel Reijnen (USA)

Team Novo Nordisk (USA)
Fabio Calabria (AUS)
Javier Megias Leal (ESP)
David Lozano Riba (ESP)
Joonas Henttala (FIN)
Martijin Verschoor (NED)
Andrea Peron (ITA)
Kevin de Mesmaeker (BEL)
Christopher Williams (AUS)

Edwin Alcibiades Avila Vanegas (COL)
Julio Alexis Camacho Bernal (COL)
Robinson Eduardo Chalapud Gomez (COL)
Marco Corti (ITA)
Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (COL)
Jarlinson Pantano (COL)
Michael Rodriguez Galindo (COL)

UCI Continental Teams
Bissell Pro Cycling (USA)
Phil Gaimon (USA)
Jason McCartney (USA)
Jeremy Vennell (NZL)
Christopher Baldwin (USA)
Jonathan Patrick McCarty (USA)
Carter Jones (USA)
Michael Torckler (NZL)
Kirk Carlsen (USA)

Bontrager Cycling Team (USA)
Nathan Brown (USA)
Lawson Craddock (USA)
Antoine Duchesne (CAN)
Ryan Eastman (USA)
Connor O’Leary (USA)
James Oram (NZL)
Tanner Putt (USA)
Nathan Wilson (USA)

Optum Presented by Kelly Benefit Strategies (USA)
Alexander Candelario (USA)
Marsh Cooper (CAN)
Jesse Anthony (USA)
Michael Friedman (USA)
Tom Zirbel (USA)
Thomas Soladay (USA)
Ryan Anderson (CAN)
Ken Hanson (USA)

Jelly Belly p/b Kenda (USA)
Fred Rodriguez (USA)
Morgan Schmitt (USA)
Ian Burnett (USA)
Alex Hagman (USA)
Serghei Tvetcov (MDA)
Sean Mazich (USA)
Luis Lemus (MEX)
Nic Hamilton (CAN)

Jamis-Hagens Berman p/b Sutter Home (USA)
Janier Alexis Acevedo Calle (COL)
Juan José Haedo (ARG)
Matt Cooke (USA)
Tyler Wren (USA)
Carson Miller (USA)
Luis Romero Amaran (CUB)
James Driscoll (USA)
Ben Jacques-Maynes (USA)

Stages for the 2013 USA Pro Challenge include:
Stage 1: Monday, Aug. 19 – Aspen/Snowmass Circuit
Stage 2: Tuesday, Aug. 20 – Aspen/Snowmass to Breckenridge
Stage 3: Wednesday, Aug. 21 – Breckenridge to Steamboat Springs
Stage 4: Thursday, Aug. 22 – Steamboat Springs to Beaver Creek
Stage 5: Friday, Aug. 23 – Vail Individual Time Trial
Stage 6: Saturday, Aug. 24 – Loveland to Fort Collins
Stage 7: Sunday, Aug. 25 – Denver Circuit

Photo courtesy Slipstream

This page contains affiliate links, where we get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through the links(at no cost to you) and helps support the site. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Sale assos Chamois Cream (6.76 Ounce)
Sale Garmin Edge 1030, 3.5' GPS Cycling/Bike Computer With Navigation And Connected Features