Stage 17 Racing Announces BMW as Title Sponsor

Stage 17 Racing proudly announced a new title sponsorship deal with BMW North America at the team’s launch party at Avila Bay Athletic Club and Spa in San Luis Obispo, Calif. The development cycling team, based out of Orange County, Calif., will be known as BMW Development Team for the 2014 season. BMW North America will also be the official vehicle sponsor of the BMW Development Team for 2014. The team remains focused on fostering clean, mature athletes prepared to become the next crop of elite America cycling champions.

“The growth this program has experienced is extremely exciting and being able to don the BMW Roundel this season is a testament to everyone’s hard work and dedication,” said Michael Roecklein, team owner. “The sky’s the limit in 2014. We have so many things to look forward to on the road, but our partnership with BMW allows us to take this team to the next level.”

Also new for 2014 is the addition of Shaklee as supporter of our program. Proceeds from Shaklee products purchased on go directly to Stage 17 and the BMW Development Team.

The development team looks to build on its 2013 successes where they earned invites to some of the most prestigious races in North America, including Tour of the Gila, the Philly Cycling Classic, Bucks County Classic and Ruta del Centro. In addition rubbing elbows with America’s most talented pro teams, Stage 17 Racing promoted two of its own riders to the pro ranks; Flavio de Luna joined Team SmartStop Pro Cycling and Andrew Sjorgen recently announced his plans to race for Jelly Belly Cycling in 2014.

Photos © Jordan Clark Haggard

[SlideDeck2 id=13490]

For 2014, the team has already accepted invites for the Vuelta Mexico in March and Tour de Beauce in June in Quebec, Canada. The team also plans to race many of the most popular races on home soil starting with the Redlands Bicycle Classic.

Returning for their third year with the team are Ben Bertiger, Bryan Larsen and Daniel Katz. Returning for their second year with the team are Rene Corella, former U23 Road Race Champion (2011); Daniel Harm, Assistant Director; Gera Medina; Ian Moore and Kyle Torres.

Newcomers include Collin Berry (formerly Get Crackin’), Matt Shaupp (formerly Bear Dev Team), Ryan Miller (formerly Hagens Berman), Taylor Clements (formerly Get Crackin’) and Tyler Brandt (formerly Get Crackin’).

“One of our main goals over the last two years has been to prepare and promote our young riders to the pros,” added Roecklein. ‘We wouldn’t be where we’re at today without all of our tremendous riders as well as our sponsors, many of which have been with us since day one. Pactimo and IRT Wheels took a chance with us very early on and we’re grateful to work with them again in 2014.”

In addition to its new title sponsor BMW, and its returning sponsors Pactimo, IRT Wheels, TIME, EastWest Bikes, SPY, Zevlin, SDG Saddles and Inno Racks, BMW Development Team is excited to also team up with Clement, Jet Black Cycling, MRI and Feedback Sports.

Additional information on each rider can be found at

BMW Development Team Returning Riders:
Ben Bertiger
Bryan Larsen
Daniel Katz
Daniel Harm
Gera Medina
Ian Moore
Kyle Torres
Rene Corella

New additions to BMW Development Team:
Collin Berry (formerly Get Crackin’)
Matt Shaupp (formerly Bear Dev Team)
Ryan Miller (formerly Hagens Berman)
Taylor Clements (formerly Get Crackin’)
Tyler Brandt (formerly Get Crackin’)

Additional information about Stage 17 Racing can be found at

This page contains affiliate links, where we get a commission if you decide to make a purchase through the links(at no cost to you) and helps support the site. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.